The Other I

August 29, 2016

I can no other answer make…

Filed under: Just Stuff — theotheri @ 8:17 pm

But thanks, and thanks

and ever thanks

Shakespeare – Twelfth Night

Over the years, I have used and greatly appreciated the internet.  But I have often worried about the potential limitations of using it for hours every day.  I have worried that it is teaching us to think in sound bites and limiting our ability to concentrate.  I’ve worried about widespread use of replacing personal interchange with cyber-communication, limiting our ability to communicate directly with other people present with us in the here and now.  I have worried that it robs us of our ability to be quiet, to observe what is happening around us or within our own thoughts.

I had no expectation when I wrote the post on yesterday’s blog that I would get any responses at all.  I didn’t write it to get solutions or even support.  I certainly did not expect responses that would give me a foothold, and that I would find so energizing.  Taken together, the comments and “likes” have somehow taken me to a new dimension of insight.

Each of the comments are unique.  But they have helped me put things in a far better perspective.  I have learned that, for all its potential limitations, the internet can also be a powerful, meaningful source of human exchange.  And it has helped me learn that simply offering support and understanding is sometimes the greatest gift we can give.

It has certainly been a great gift to me.

And so I thank you.  I can no other answer make…

 

2 Comments »

  1. Yes, while in this ‘busy’ age and other limitations, many of us are unable to strike new or sustain old relationships wit any vigor, it feels nice to be in touch with people with whom one shares, learns thru a window however small that internet offers. Suddenly the horizon is much wider and warmth, from many suns.

    How else in my life would I ever hope to read/like views/thoughts even occasionally of an incisive thinking ex-nun?

    Like

    Comment by tskraghu — August 30, 2016 @ 4:22 am | Reply

    • Oh thank you, Raghu. What I would ask is how else would I ever be enriched by a wonderful stream of wisdom and humor from a culture stretching back three and a half thousand years? And a stimulating dollop of news about developments in your land today. And all in my native language yet!

      Liked by 1 person

      Comment by Terry Sissons — August 30, 2016 @ 2:23 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

