The Other I

March 1, 2011

Morality in the hands of government

I said in my post yesterday that I certainly would not want to hand over the power to dictate moral decisions to governments.  For thousands of years governments have hijacked God and tried to use religion to stay in power.

The struggle, unfortunately, continues even in America.  The South Dakota legislature are considering a bill that would legalize the killing of abortion doctors on the grounds that these doctors are endangering the lives of innocent victims.  The legislation proposes to change the definition of murder in the case of someone murdering a doctor who performs abortion.  Instead of calling it murder, killing abortion doctors would be categorized as justifiable homicide.

At least we have a Constitution and a Supreme Court.  I agree it is by no means a fail-safe way of keeping religion and state separate.  But it’s a lot better than nothing.

4 Comments »

  1. How can you justified taking a life if you are pro-life. I do not believe in abortion or the death penalty. But I’ve see too many that oppose abortion but believe in the death penalty. I just don’t understand that kind of thinking. This is the first I’ve heard of this. These extremists are really hurting society with their irrational thinking.

    Like

    Comment by djc1 — March 2, 2011 @ 2:28 am | Reply

    • Yes, I absolutely agree. I don’t trust the motives of people who are against abortion on the grounds that all life is sacred, but also believe in the death penalty. Like you, I am against both the death penalty and abortion, though not on religious grounds and not absolutely. I respect he RC position in relation to the unborn, but think that philosophically there are legitimate alternatives and that Catholics therefore do not have the right to impose their position on believers and non-believers alike. I do not support abortion across the board, though, because I believe that actions have consequences. There may be times when it is the alternative. But that does not mean there may not be psychological, interpersonal, and physical consequences. Research is showing, for instance, that women who have had abortions often find it difficult to conceive when they do want to have a child. But enough of this complex and delicate subject.

      Thank you for your comment. You are one of the people who keep me going, you know.

      Like

      Comment by theotheri — March 2, 2011 @ 4:54 pm | Reply

  2. I checked and I don’t think it’s true about ” legalizing the killing of abortion doctors.” I think your information might be wrong. Of course I hope it is…because that is the craziest thing I ever heard.

    Like

    Comment by djc1 — March 2, 2011 @ 6:03 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

