The Other I

July 29, 2013

30-minute happiness program

Filed under: Just Stuff — theotheri @ 8:47 pm
Tags:

I recently read a brief summary of a new book by  clinical psychologist  Todd Kashdan purportedly  offering the secret of happiness.

What do you think it is?  nurturing relationships?   engaging in work and recreational activities you enjoy?  living in the present rather than in the future or the past?  being curious?  taking care of your health?

Kashdan devised his “feelgood formula” allegedly based on research exploring what makes people happy.  He recommends all of the above, but one of his top recommendations is 30 minutes of daily exercise.

I am a great believer in significant physical and psychological well being resulting from daily exercise.  I do it myself .   I find the rewards are worth the effort at least ten times over.

But I doubt happiness can be purchased quite that easily.

And at the risk of sounding like someone who says they still believe the world is flat, or that Darwin’s theory of evolution has no proof, I strongly suspect that the research on which this acquired happiness is supposedly based is highly questionable.

I will admit, however, that as soon as I post this, I am going to turn on some Mozart and do my daily 30 minutes exercise.

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

