The Other I

January 16, 2013

Something to really look forward to

Filed under: Growing Old,Just Stuff — theotheri @ 10:00 pm
Tags:

Researchers at Penn State University have just published a long-term study of almost 500 people at least 75 years of age.

They have reached the conclusion that if you’re 75 or older, you can pretty much eat what you want.  That includes sugar and fat.  You can even gain weight your doctor would disapprove of at an earlier age.

I haven’t reached 75 yet, but during the morning as I waltzed around the supermarket doing my weekly shop, I thought of what it would be like to take off the restraints.  I even indulged in a chocolate nut cookie when I got home in anticipation of that magical 75 marker a few years hence.

But I’m not convinced.

I could become a sugar-addict in about ten minutes.  And every Christmas holiday I demonstrate to myself just how easily I can put on a couple of pounds.  What if I did that all year?  I have more energy with my weight the way it is.  And energy is the one thing I nurture in my senior years.  It disappears too fast already.  I don’t need to make things worse with extra pounds I don’t need.

Still, chocolate nut cookies are a tempting consolation…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

