The Other I

November 8, 2012

Commiserations

Filed under: Just Stuff,Survival Strategies — theotheri @ 8:59 pm

I rarely have trouble find something to blog about.  Mostly because I’m not very fussy about whether what I’m writing is serious or important or terribly entertaining or interesting to anybody but me.

But right now every single thing I think to write about seems either irrelevant at best and completely out of touch and insensitive at worst.   I heard on the news today that another storm was due to hit the East Coast, and I’ve just learned that five inches of snow landed in New York, and the sea wall outside the village where my sister lives was destroyed by Sandy, leaving them vulnerable in ways unknown to this newest onslaught.

So how can I write about the election results or about the fiscal cliff tonight?  Wouldn’t a discussion about left-wing social engineering or the moral questions related to global warming feel rather distant next to a hysterical Mother Nature once more throwing a tantrum on the front door step?  Does anybody really want to know about exercise and dementia, or marijuana and IQ at this point?

 

 

 

So for what its worth, I send all of you, friends, family, colleagues, acquaintances, and everyone facing the challenges of yet another storm, my commiserations and sympathy.

Be tough and hang in there.  There are people half way around the world who are thinking about you.  (And it’s not just me either.)

2 Comments »

  1. Thanks, Terry. Very sorry to hear about your sister’s misfortune. I’m beginning to wonder if we shouldn’t come up with a less benign phrase than Mother Nature. I know it’s just a convention, but even cliches affect the way we think about things, don’t they. Though I can’t say I’ve got a new phrase at hand. I guess in the old days when we were taught that all matter is evil, we wouldn’t have any illusions about weather and forests, oceans and such being anything but sinister.

    Like

    Comment by pianomusicman — November 8, 2012 @ 10:25 pm | Reply

    • Hmmm – interesting thought to find another name for nature. But then mothers are not always nurturing, are they? And it may be useful to remember that nature *is* our life-line. (But that may be my excuse. I can’t think up a better phrase than Mother Nature either.)

      Thank you for the concern. The good news is that, like you, my sister and her village survived with the Sandy Follow-on without significant damage. Just some of the snow left over from the New York drop. Terry

      Like

      Comment by Terry Sissons — November 9, 2012 @ 4:51 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

