The Other I

September 20, 2012

Still growing up

Filed under: Growing Old,Just Stuff — theotheri @ 3:40 pm
Tags:

Taking a nap, when I was growing up, was something one got old enough at about the age of three not to have to do anymore.   And  I emphatically thought of myself as grown up by the time I was three.

I’m convinced by the research suggesting that an afternoon break invariably gives a person more energy over all, but even in Spain when everyone else went took a siesta, I kept to my grown up schedule.

But I am now at last giving in occasionally.  Even just twenty minutes lying down in mid-afternoon gives me the evenings in a way that another cup of coffee or something more to eat than I need  ever does.

Besides that, I never look back at a siesta with regret the way I do about that extra dollop of sugar-saturated excess.

Nonetheless, I seem to be a slow learner when it comes to taking a nap.  I impress myself as being pretty dumb sometimes.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

