The Other I

August 21, 2012

“Your call is important to us…”

Filed under: Just Stuff — theotheri @ 8:13 pm
Tags:

In a post earlier this week, Barbara Sullivan describes her experience of “productivity” reflected in what is known as “customer service.”  Most of us have been through our own versions of this, and I am not going to write out all the boring details of my current version.

Except to say that after three weeks of negotiation with two different computer companies, three banks, and customer service departments spanning offices between Delhi, India to Belfast Northern Ireland, I finally got my new computer delivered last Saturday.

By Sunday afternoon I had it set up, connected, and working.

Monday morning the monitor went blank.  I gave up in desperation on Monday afternoon and called technical service.

They are picking up the faulty computer tomorrow.  They say.  They have not yet told me when to expect a replacement, but I’m hoping it will be sometime in August.

And at least my old computer is still working.  Albeit at only two speeds: “Slow”, and “Wait, I’m Busy Doing Something More Important.”

But we are only talking about computers after all.  I will survive.  A little battered perhaps but in tact.

I dread to imagine what happens when this insanity invades our medical world.

1 Comment »

  1. “I dread to imagine what happens when this insanity invades our medical world.”

    I’m afraid it may feel right at home, Terry…at least, on this side of the pond.

    Like

    Comment by pianomusicman — August 21, 2012 @ 10:18 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

