The Other I

July 7, 2012

Garden of life

Filed under: Growing Old,Just Stuff — theotheri @ 2:17 pm
Tags:

The second edition of my book  The Big Bang to Now is finally in the hands of the publisher.  I hope to get a clear publishing date when the staff return to the office next Monday after July 4th celebrations.

It was at first with some relief that I finally made it out to the garden which has been running riot with our record-breaking rain for the last three months.  Having left the farm at an early age, I’ve never been much of a gardener, but Jung always said that the second half of our lives is when we start to explore the other half of our selves.

I think the garden has decided that my highly-organized self needs some further development in living with chaos.  I, on the other hand, have decided that a discussion with my garden can make a two-year old look positively rational.  A garden is a self-directed living organism with a will of its own, which occasionally bows to the wishes of the person who thinks she’s in control.

  • For example:
  • Plant:  I don’t have enough room!
  • Me:  Are you a weed?  I didn’t put you here.Plant:  I like it here.Me:  You are lovely but you are squashing out Agapanthus.
  • Plant:  I need more room.  Me:  What’s your name, honey?
  • Plant:  A rose is still a rose…
  • Me:  I’m going to call you Perennial Poppy.  But you’ll have to move over.
  • Plant: I don’t want to move.  Move Agapanthus.  She’s taking up my room.

The conversation with the next plant is more of the same.  “I’m tired.”  “I don’t feel well.”  “I don’t like it here anymore.”   “I want what she has.”  And of course, the all-purpose “No!”

The garden chair seems content enough with my bossing it around.  But I have the feeling it’s me that’s going to be changing more than Poppy or Agapanthus or Courgette or Tomato.

2 Comments »

  1. Cute Post.My Garden usually talks to me through by back the next day when I can hardly move. Here in the Midwest we need rain desperately. The farmers are going to lose their crop soon if it doesn’t rain.

    Like

    Comment by Donna — July 8, 2012 @ 11:29 am | Reply

    • Donna, thank you for touching base. It feels like a nice welcome back. I know what you mean about the weather. We are weary of the rain, but we are not being flooded out of our houses or being swept to our deaths by torrents of water which a lot of people in the country are. And sore bones and sweltering heat doesn’t compete with the fires or farmers’ losing their entire crops, do they? I read that there is some fear that these extreme weather events could lead to serious food shortages. Terry

      Like

      Comment by theotheri — July 8, 2012 @ 2:12 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

