The Other I

June 3, 2012

The Queen on the Thames

Filed under: Just Stuff,The English — theotheri @ 9:01 pm
Tags:

The Queen participated in a flotilla on the Thames and then watched boats passing by in a salute in a freezing cold and slashing rain on the River Thames today.  She’s 86 and stood there smiling and waving for five hours.  How she did not catch pneumonia is more than I can explain.

I merely watched more television today than I usually watch in two weeks and I’m worn out.

A friend in Kenya was wondering why so many people there were celebrating the Diamond Jubilee since, within memory, they’d effectively fought a war of independence against the British.  I don’t know the answer.  I’m an American.  You’d be forgiven for thinking she was our queen too.

I did read a post by a fellow-blogger in Scotland, whose assessment comes close to mine, so I’m copying it below.

Post from http://weescoops.wordpress.com/2012/06/03/and-the-reign-certainly-hasnt-dampened-their-spirits/#comment-2811

I watched a lot of the flotilla today for the Queen’s Jubilee. I did sleep for a lot of it as well, but I woke up in time to see everyone getting drenched.

20120603-093253 PM.jpg

The event itself was great, but the BBC coverage was uncharacteristically high-cringe. Very repetitive commentary: “and the rain certainly hasn’t dampened their spirits”; “and the Queen is still standing. She has not sat down.”

Twitter was more entertaining with a more realistic view such as:

(@Michael Dennis) “Every time I turn on to BBC1 Sophie Raworth talks about “amazing scenes” and we then cut to an oily fishing boat in the rain.”

So, the high points for me: Kate’s outfit – great choice in vibrant red. Beautiful. I also really liked the Gloriana flagship. It had nine banks of oars and looked the business. I want one. Especially if it came equipped with Olympic medal winners and ex-servicemen. But I haven’t got a river. Still, it’s my fortieth in 2013, so I’ll put it on my “maybe” list… And the choir giving it laldy in the pouring rain: “Rule Britannia!”

Low points – Sorry to say that the BBC were struggling for things to say. Also the reveling in rain. It would have been miserable. Why pretend?

Nice to see Anneka Rice again though. I’d have liked a slot on the art bridge – that was a great idea.

I think the Queen would have liked the flotilla . A good show – and mid afternoon which has got to be a plus. She can go home for a cup of tea and a peaceful evening before facing tomorrow.

But we could have used a Dimbleby for the commentary.


Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

