The Other I

May 21, 2012

Sloooow walking

Filed under: Growing Old — theotheri @ 4:14 pm
Tags:

While I’m the subject of getting old (I used to say “getting older,” but at 72 I feel I’d better face reality), I have discovered another trick.

Peter and I used to hike.  We did ever since we met and took our first camping trip to the Blue Ridge mountains.  In the Lake District we walked for 4-5 hours in the hills 2 – 3 times a week.

But now his arthritis has caught up with him, and although we still walk, it is at a much slower pace.  I’ve been wondering for some time how to maintain my own fitness at this leisurely pace.

I think I found it.  I take one long slow step for every two I used to take.  It’s a trick I adapted from Slow Exercise which people who have tried it say it harder than doing the same thing faster.

I think I’ll try it.  at the moment, my slow walking is using muscles I didn’t know I had.

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

