The Other I

May 11, 2012

My tirade against anger

You might not believe this but the Catholic bishops in America are now accusing the Girl Scouts of being in conflict with church teaching, and are launching an official inquiry.

Notice it’s the Girl Scouts, not the Boy Scouts, who are accused of being in conflict with church teaching.  Wonder why…

Okay, that’s enough on the subject of the American bishops for a while.  I find I’m in danger of fighting against rather than fight for something when I concentrate too much on the Catholic hierarchy.

And for whatever bio-chemical, cultural, personal reasons, I find that getting angry is counter-productive.  I start concentrating on the wrong things, it uses up useless energy, and as far as I can see, I’ve never helped anybody, including myself, when I’m angry.

I’m not walking away from helping sisters if I can – or even the Girl Scouts.  But I’m going to stop fulminating.

3 Comments »

  1. Speaking as someone who has avoided anger (mine and others’) all my life, I understand what you’re saying here–but I also want to applaud you for speaking out, whether it’s on behalf of what’s right, or against what’s wrong. I think there are some times when we can transmute anger into energy that has an ultimately positive effect (for example, the Civil Rights movement). Granted, it’s an emotional firewalk to do so, and I find myself usually taking taking your path as the better choice. Once in a while, though, the choice is more about the consequences of silence; I was glad to read what you had to say about sisters, with a small s, that I can identify with too, even though I’m not (and never was) Catholic. I was also glad to learn something about their history, which I would probably never have encountered otherwise.

    Like

    Comment by Barbara Sullivan — May 11, 2012 @ 10:10 pm | Reply

    • Anger is probably an emotion in which I have spent more professional and personal time contemplating and reading about than any other human emotion. But now you’ve got me started, I think I’ll write a post on my thoughts about anger later this week. I would be particularly interested in your take on it.

      Okay, I’ll go back and read the article in detail to find out what the bishops’ problem is with the Girl Scouts. Now that you’ve asked, I find myself somewhat interested. (And besides, my philosophy of anger is that walking away without really understanding from what makes me angry is limiting, and sometimes even self-destructive.)

      Thank you for not letting me rest on my laurels. Terry

      Like

      Comment by Terry Sissons — May 13, 2012 @ 3:13 pm | Reply

  2. P.S. And at the risk of riling you up again, what the heck are they complaining about as regards the Girl Scouts??

    Like

    Comment by Barbara Sullivan — May 11, 2012 @ 10:11 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

