The Other I

May 6, 2012

The anatomy of a great day

Filed under: Just Stuff — theotheri @ 3:22 pm

I’m sure it’s happened to all of us – suddenly in a flash something happens and one finds oneself wishing desperately for something that perhaps as little as two minutes before had never entered ones consciousness.  Then suddenly, it’s the thing one wants more than anything else in the world.

They range for the life-threatening to simply the embarrassing.  But they all spring  up totally unexpectedly.  Things like “Oh please god, don’t let the car go over the cliff,” or “I hope my leg isn’t broken,” or “I didn’t copy her on that email, did I?!!”

I’m just recovering from one of those moments.  I was reviewing my expenses and accounts as I do at the end of most months.  And suddenly I saw, to my horror, that at some point in the last six months, I’d overspent by close to $3,000.  I think my heart rate went up to about 120 and my blood pressure hit 220/190.  How could I possibly have been so carelessly profligate?  And how was I ever going to pay this amount off?

I began by examining every line in my budget for the rest of the year.  After about an hour, I decided that maybe if I was lucky and delayed on various purchases I could get the overdraft down by five hundred dollars or so.  Hardly enough.

By this point that sudden desperate wish was all-consuming.  All I wanted more than anything else in the world was to get back to the financial position I thought I was in about 61 minutes before.

Then I decided to look for the sources in earlier months for this gross over-spend.  And I found it.

It was a computer error that I’d made approximately 62 minutes earlier.  Turning a plus into a minus and multiplying for the next seven months has potentially devastating consequences.

So I got my big wish for the day.  My financial position is exactly what I thought it was just over an hour ago.  Give or take a few pence.

I’ll live with that.

In fact, I think I could actually celebrate with a gin and tonic.  Maybe with a chocolate bar as well.  Maybe Peter would even like to send me a bunch of roses.

Anyway, it’s been a great day.

2 Comments »

  1. Reminds me of the time I forgot I bought a fireplace and wondered why I was £1500 down…

    Like

    Comment by sanstorm — May 6, 2012 @ 4:10 pm | Reply

    • I think I can say I know how you felt: depending on the exchange rate, 1500 is just about equal to $3,000. It’s two extremes of feeling, isn’t it? T

      Like

      Comment by Terry Sissons — May 6, 2012 @ 4:21 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

