The Other I

April 8, 2012

Trying to say it better this time

Filed under: Uncategorized — theotheri @ 8:08 pm

In my post earlier today I said I found some of Christianity’s myths to be childish.  I didn’t mean that.  To suggest that Christianity is a childish religion is so childish itself as to be almost unforgivable coming from someone who is well beyond childhood.

What I meant to say is that I find many of the interpretations of Christian myth to be childish.  But there is also the potential for great courage and strength and insight in interpreting these myths.

Actually, one can say this about almost any myth, religious or otherwise.  The story of Santa Claus may be told to children, but it carries the potential of a mature message.  So do Alice in Wonderland and Cinderella.  I am more familiar with various presentations of Christian myth than I am of those of other religions, and so I am more aware of the limitations of some interpretations, sometimes even those official interpretations which the faithful are told are infallible.  But that does not make the myths per se childish.

So I wish I had said what I meant in the first place, which is that Christian myths are sometimes interpreted in immature ways.

 

I have a lot of opinions, but that Christianity is a childish religion is not one of them.  I consider even appearing to suggest it was a Foot in Mouth moment on my part.

My mumbled apologies.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

