The Other I

October 20, 2011

The eternal wish of childhood

Filed under: Just Stuff — theotheri @ 8:09 pm

I grew up on a farm.  We had a lake to swim in the summer and to ice skate on in the winter.  We had a tennis court, an apple and pear orchard, fields of wheat to play hide and seek in, we had dogs, fish, chickens and pigs, a tractor, a croquet set, a ping-pong table, and a grand piano.
But we didn’t have a horse.  I asked for a horse for Christmas and again for more than one birthday, but we never had a horse.  I’ve ridden on a horse three or four times, but I never really learned how to saddle up.  Somehow it remains an unfilled gap in an almost idyllic childhood.

Today I live in a village ten minutes outside of Cambridge.  We have a list-serve which anyone in the village can use.  The messages mostly reflect village life – the play in the village hall, quiz night at the local pub, the suspicious calls villagers should not trust, the progress of rebuilding the store and post office that was burned to the ground last May.  Sometimes people are giving away excess furniture, electronics, dishes, children’s toys, or extra produce from the garden.  Sometimes people are looking for them.  Sometimes people are looking for jobs or people to fill a vacancy.

But the email that came last week must be my all-time favourite.

The subject line read simply:

Horse Wanted

2 Comments »

  1. I grew up in Chicago (South Side). Depending on which way the wind blew you knew the Chicago Stockyards was close by. I wanted to be a cowgirl and have a horse. I LOVED Roy Rogers and wanted him to adopt me so I could live on a ranch and ride horses. But that wasn’t gonna happen.
    My friend Marcy and I would travel to the South Suburb of Hickory Hills to go Horseback riding. Her mother would drive us and make us say the Rosary during the ride there, which took about 45 minutes.
    Life is funny you grew up on a farm but never got to go horseback riding. I grew up in a large city and at least twice a month went horseback riding. Thanks for sharing you brought back some fond memories from my childhood.
    If you didn’t have to be careful about your back I say go for a horseride but this aging thing sucks at times. ☺

    Like

    Comment by Donna — October 21, 2011 @ 1:51 am | Reply

    • Oh how right you are about the back! I turned over the mattress on our bed this morning, and did wonder how I would deal with this particular task when my back says Absolutely No More.

      45 minutes worth of rosary sounds like a lot of Hail Mary’s. As I recall, we managed to get through five mysteries of the family rosary in about ten minutes. By that calculation, you still had fifteen minutes left to get to the horses even after saying all fifteen mysteries. Interesting, isn’t it, how these memories return. This sounds like one of the good ones. Thank you for sharing, too.

      Terry

      Like

      Comment by Terry Sissons — October 21, 2011 @ 2:42 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

