The Other I

September 6, 2011

A pessimist in lamb’s clothing

Filed under: Husband,Survival Strategies — theotheri @ 3:50 pm

My husband is not a natural optimist.

In fact, I think it would not be a distortion of the facts to say that he is a natural pessimist.

His argument for this stance is that he is surprised and delighted when he is wrong quite as often as  I am surprised and disappointed as a natural optimist when I am wrong.

I can’t argue with the math.

But once in a while he tries to put a sunny spin on developments.

Like this morning.  It is cold and windy and the rain is lashing down.  It feels like the kind of day you’d expect in November, not early September.  But we’ve had a summer like that.

Well, said Peter looking out the window, at least you can’t look at the weather anymore and say “And this is August.

Personally, I think he needs more practice.

But in the meantime, he does make me laugh.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

