The Other I

March 29, 2011

Heaven is a crowded place

Filed under: The English — theotheri @ 3:42 pm

We had a calendar on our kitchen wall when I was growing up that listed the saint’s feast day for every day of the year.  I thought I knew all the official saints whom popes have declared had been welcomed into heaven.

That was before we moved to Spain and then to England.  There are thousands of names I had never heard of whose names grace streets, churches, squares, and cul-d-sacs.  I thought I’d learned not to be surprised.

But yesterday I was introduced to St. Tiggywinkles.  You think I’m making this up.  I’m not.

There is a hospital for animals, especially badgers and hedgehogs,  in Buckinghamshire under the patronage of St. Tiggywinkles.  The name strains credibility, I know.  But maybe there really was a St. Tiggywinkles, perhaps a follower of St. Francis, who loved animals?

This is England, after all.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

