The Other I

September 8, 2010

Testing a new temptation

Filed under: For when nothing is going right,Just Stuff — theotheri @ 4:23 pm

My mother taught me how to cook and bake.  She was a much better teacher than I gave her credit for, not because she was such a brilliant cook herself but because she so effortlessly made me believe that I could do it.

Then in the convent I was assigned to work for several years with Sister Anne Cecilia in the bakery where we did all the baking for a community of 300-400.

So in my life time, I have baked tens of thousands of loaves of bread, pies, cakes, cookies, frozen desserts, puddings, tarts, meringues, and pastries.  But I have never made a cake without flour before.

Today I did.  Peter pointed out a recipe in Sunday’s paper called simply Temptation.  It was aptly named:  the entire ingredients include only a pound of 90% cocoa chocolate, melted butter, five eggs, sugar, and a wisp of vanilla extract.   The interesting part for me was the discovery that if you whip the eggs and sugar long enough, it will turn into a thick mousse-like batter.  The recipe said it would take about five minutes.  It took me fifteen but it seemed to work.

At least the cake is now out of the oven and it looks like a proper cake.  With all that chocolate, I’m sure it will be heavenly.

All temptations are, aren’t they?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

