The Other I

March 10, 2010

Self-flagellation and sanctity

I’ve just read a short excerpt from a new book about Pope John Paul II who Rome put onto the first rung of the ladder to sainthood last December.

Apparently he flagellated himself with a belt to emulate Christ’s suffering.

I fear I am more repulsed than edified.

Somehow most of this kind of thing strikes me as too egocentric and  self-absorbed.  Personally, I think it’s usually more important to forget about ones own limitations and purported “sinfulness” and worry more about loving and helping others.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

